Christmas Crafts in Llandysul

Street Organ at Llandysul Christmas Fair

Street Organ at Llandysul Christmas Fair

It was the Llandysul Christmas Fair last Friday afternoon and evening.  A bit different from previous years as there was no WG funding.  The organisation of the whole event had been taken on by members of the Business Club.  Gold stars and top marks to Karen, Hilary and Andrea and not doubt countless others who volunteered their time and energy.  Some of the shops were open and there was a lovely street organic playing in the street.  The street is quite dark, even with the Christmas lights on, so it was all very atmospheric.   I had a lovely welcome from Daphne Jones Collections, as well as glass of mulled wine!  The Spiritualist Centre was very busy and I entered a raffle, guess the weight of the cake and guess the name of the teddy bear.  Haven’t heard anything from them so I guess that I didn’t win.

Tysul Hall, Llandysul Christmas Fair 2011

Tysul Hall, Llandysul Christmas Fair 2011

I couldn’t come until after work so I didn’t have time to visit anymore shops as I wanted to visit Tysul Hall and see the stalls there.  What a great atmosphere there was in the hall, and I was sad to learn that I’d missed the Scout’s show.  There were Owls in the hall, not shopping but on display from Pant Glas World of Nature!  Lots of craft stalls, including Diane Mathais, Cariad Glass, the Llandysul Country Market and many others plus John, who I’ll name the Slateman, until I recall the name of his business, but his slate tablewear is fab as many of my friends will find out on the 25th Dec.  There were lots of people to talk to and I did not get around everyone before the stalls started to close up, which was a shame but can’t be helped as I was late arriving and it was home time.
There’s a Christmas Craft Fair in the Pwerdy-Powerhouse this Saturday as well as the first day of their Christmas Art Exhibition.  I’ll be invigilating at the exhibition next Monday afternoon (5th), so please come along and admire (buy) the art by many local artists: Graham Lewis, Lynda Guy, Chris Chalk, Charlotte Davies, Victoria Malcom, Cara Bendon and the art group “Drawing from the Self”.  I’m looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

